CB Student Award Show

9 OCT 2014 – 28 JAN 2015

Curated by Day+Gluckman

Artists: Chris Alton, Halgurd Baram, Steph Choy, Marcin Filip Cybulski, Sophia Freeman, Veronica de Giovanelli, Ekaterina Golubina, Trasi Henen, Kerri Jefferis, Yunsun Jung, India Mackie, Lucy Parnell, Laura Porter, Rebecca Powell, Alan Stanners, Kyungmin Son, Anya Thomas, Jany E Thomas


This exhibition includes a gloriously cardboard installation inhabiting the reception area, photographic interventions, exuberant nymphs and an invitation to gyrate with the EDL – the English Disco Lovers. More familiar media is represented through painting and photographs, with subject matter presenting enigmatic, sometimes painfully personal, often hilarious, snapshots of our world.

The curators selected works that they felt would resonate in the unique spaces of Collyer Bristow Gallery and were reflective of the best of contemporary visual arts practice at the two colleges. It was an incredibly rewarding if difficult undertaking to hone down the works and the artists from such strong and diverse colleges, courses and artists.

Middlesex University graduate Chris Alton said: “I’ll be exhibiting a project I’ve been working on for the past two years, English Disco Lovers. The piece blends socio-political phenomenon with real life activism – it’s a deployment of disco against belligerent xenophobia that’s spawned a real life political movement. Showing the project as part of the Collyer Bristow graduate exhibition is an exciting opportunity, as it takes the work back to its art-fuelled roots.”

Richard Noble, Head of the Department of Art at Goldsmiths, said: “We are delighted our students have been invited to take part in Collyer Bristow’s newest exhibition dedicated to emerging artists. The public will experience some truly innovative works and get a glimpse of some spectacular pieces by the next generation of artists.”

Press enquiries:
Darren Butt, Business Development Manager, Collyer Bristow LLP
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7470 4408  darren.butt@collyerbristow.com

Steph Choy

Jany E Thomas

Halgurd Baram

Kerri Jefferis

Marcin Filip Cybulski

India Mackie

Lucy Parnell

Alan Stanners

Kyungmin Son

Yunsun Jung

Veronica de Giovanelli


Trasi Henen